Deleting your Amazon account is the simplest manner to absolutely erase your buy records. If you need to delete your account for good, here’s the way to provide your self a easy slate.
What You Need to Know
Your Amazon account is shared throughout Amazon’s websites, so in case you delete it, you’ll lose get right of entry to to Amazon.com in addition to global shops like Amazon.co.united kingdom and Amazon-owned webweb sites like Audible.com. You won’t be capable of signal into any internet site you operate your Amazon account for. Your Amazon Payments account may also be close down.
You’ll lose get right of entry to to essentially everything. Any open orders can be canceled, subscriptions like Amazon Prime will right now end, and also you’ll lose any Amazon present card stability for your account. You won’t be capable of go back bought gadgets for money back or replacement. Digital content material you got can be gone, and also you won’t be capable of redownload Kindle eBooks, Amazon videos, music, virtual software program and games, and anything different virtual content material you would possibly own.
Amazon may also delete your account’s buy records and patron data, so any reviews, dialogue posts, and snap shots you’ve uploaded to Amazon’s internet site may also be erased.
Closing your account and growing a brand new one is the simplest manner to erase your Amazon buy records. However, you may “archive” a number of your orders to cause them to much less seen within side the listing of preceding purchases.
This is an uncommon step to take. You don’t want to shut your account in case you simply need to cancel Amazon Prime, alternate your electronic mail address, or eliminate a fee method. You can do that all with out last an account. But in case you actually need to, here’s what you’ll want to do.
How to Close Your Amazon Account as of 2020
Update: Amazon has modified its internet site considering the fact that we at the beginning wrote this article. We recommend contacting Amazon through on line chat or calling Amazon Customer Service at 888-280-4331. Ask the customer support consultant to shut your account for you.
We’ve heard from readers who’ve used each the chat characteristic and cellphone variety to correctly near their money owed.
What occurs whilst you delete your Amazon account?
There are lots of offerings related on your Amazon account so that it will now not paintings after deletion. You’ll additionally lose get right of entry to to a number of virtual content material.
Before you may delete your account for good, Amazon’s customer support group will ship you an electronic mail with an in depth rundown of what is going to happen. Before that, however, it’s a great concept to test if there are any arrangements you want to make. By deleting your account:
- You’ll lose get right of entry to to all of your Amazon money owed, which include Audible.com and money owed on one of a kind united states of america domains (like amazon.co.united kingdom and amazon.de).
- You’ll lose get right of entry to to virtual content material related on your account, like Kindle ebooks, virtual music, Amazon apps, and Prime videos.
- You won’t be capable of use your Amazon present playing cards or different vouchers.
- You won’t be capable of go back or refund gadgets ordered via way of means of that account.
- You won’t be capable of provoke Textbook Rental returns — however you may be held responsible for any first rate rentals.
- You will lose get right of entry to to the content material for your Games & Software Library.
- Your reviews, posts, and different social content material can be removed.
Can I reopen a closed Amazon account?
Once your account is closed, there may be no manner back. You won’t be capable of get right of entry to it and assessment your non-public records consisting of buy records and invoices.
If you convert your thoughts after some time and determine to apply Amazon offerings — you’ll ought to create a brand new account.